Taking Back Sunday have been touring almost continuously over the last five years since the original lineup got back together, but the last time we heard new music from them was in 2014 when they released Happiness Is

I have been ready for about 1 year and 6 months for this to not be the case so when I woke up to Instagram posts and tweets announcing that a new album will be gracing our ears on the 16th of September, to say I was stoked would be a gross understatement. Tidal Wave is both the name of the album and of the first single off the record – something else that I happily woke up to this morning. It doesn’t stop there though: the video to accompany the new single (filmed when the band premiered the song at Taste of Chaos Festival in December) and a full track listing for the album are both floating around the internet for our enjoyment as well as a whole lot of really cool pre-order packages. When it rains it pours. But in this case it’s been a drought so we’re actually really bloody grateful.

The new track is definitely a change from their previous material; but then every album that they bring out is quite different to its predecessor and that is part of what makes Taking Back Sunday such a successful band, even after 7 albums, 14 years, and a handful of lineup changes… However, this might be their biggest change in sound yet – breaking away from the ’emo rock’ of the past and leaning towards a more raw, thrashy kind of genre. Many people are afraid of change but I have learnt to be patient because when El Paso was released in 2011 I definitely used the exact words “I hate it”. Probably 5 times in a row. If you asked me now, I would say that it is often the song I pick first when putting TBS on shuffle. Music grows on us. We are constantly finding elements in songs that we missed before. So I let myself listen to Tidal Wave 10 times over the course of today and thus feel I’m giving a well rounded opinion when I say it is fantastic. And even if I didn’t think that, lead singer Adam Lazzara does and that is really all that matters.

“The reason we’re playing this song is because it’s just that damn good and I want you to hear it!”

The main reason I am sure that this album will be really special is that there’s even a story behind the album art. Lazzara’s wife, Misha, reposted the announcement to her Instagram and added a caption explaining how the photo is one she took of the couple’s son, Asa, in the Florida Keys. Based on the alleged consistent use of water references throughout the album it seems like a perfect choice and I am certain that such a personal photo wouldn’t have been used had the songs not been of great importance to Adam. I cannot wait.


Be sure to pre-order the new record Tidal Wave on iTunes or get a physical copy along with some other really cool goodies here.

      Track list

  1. Death Wolf
  2. Tidal Wave
  3. You Can’t Look Back
  4. Fences
  5. All Excess
  6. I Felt It Too
  7. Call Come Running
  8. Holy Water
  9. In The Middle Of It All
  10. We Don’t Go In There
  11. Homecoming
  12. I’ll Find A Way To Make It What You Want

About The Author

Yasmin Brown
Executive Editor

Always crying over music and fluffy animals.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.