It looks like Damon Albarn finally decided that Gorillaz fans had been teased enough. First, we thought we were getting a new album in 2016. That obviously never came to pass, but then there was word of new music with Vic Mensa (and perhaps even David Bowie). When 2017 finally hit, the mysterious album promotion train started chugging along in full force.

We got social media “books” for each of the band members, a new song and video, a new music festival, and now, we’ve finally struck gold. Today, a post showed up on Instagram that announced a new Gorillaz album, titled Humanz, is scheduled for release on April 28, 2017. Check out the artwork below.

Along with the release of the album name, track list (below), and artwork, the band also dropped four new songs – “Saturnz Barz”  animated feature by Gorillaz visual mastermind, Jamie Hewlett; “Ascension” featuring rapper Vince Staples; “We’ve Got The Power,” featuring Noel Gallagher and Jehnny Beth; and “Andromeda” featuring D.R.A.M.. Take a listen to all of those below:

The album features a packed lineup of guests, which includes Danny Brown, Vince Staples, Mavis Staples, Carly Simon, Grace Jones, De La Soul, Pusha T, Kelela, D.R.A.M., and Savages’ Jehnny Beth.

Gorillaz will play the complete album live for fans for the first time, at a secret London location tomorrow, Friday, March 24. If you are in the London area, check out tickets here.

Humanz Tracklist

01 Ascension feat. Vince Staples
02 Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
03 Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
04 Momentz feat. De La Soul
05 Submission feat. Danny Brown and Kelela
06 Charger feat. Grace Jones
07 Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
08 Busted and Blue
09 Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10 Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples and Pusha T
11 Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle and Zebra Katz
12 She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13 Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14 We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

15 The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz, and RAY BLK
16 Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
17 Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz, and Imani Vonshà
18 Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon and Kali Uchis
19 Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes


If you prefer your videos in 360 degrees then you’re in luck. Here’s “Saturnz Barz” (Spirit House) in in 360.


About The Author

Shawn Moodie
Managing Director & Entertainment Editor

Shawn has pretty diverse interests and enjoys writing on about whatever happens to take his fancy at the time. A seasoned entertainment reviewer and interviewer, Shawn has also seen every band on his 'Musicians to see before I die' list.

Related Posts

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.