The Ghost Inside, the fifth studio album from metalcore band The Ghost Inside is out today via Epitaph Records.

The self-titled album arrives as the follow-up to the band’s 2014 release Dear Youth, which debuted #63 on the Billboard 2000, and will be the first release since their tragic bus accident in 2015. Created with producer Will Putney (Every Time I Die, The Amity Affliction, Knocked Loose) and longtime friend/collaborator Jeremy Mckinnon of A Day To Remember, The Ghost Inside is 11 songs of determination, deep resolve, reflection, and newfound hope.

The band had worked on material for their fifth album prior to the accident that claimed the lives of their driver, the lives of everyone in the other vehicle and resulted in multiple injuries for all of the band members. Jonathan Vigial (vocals) suffered from a fractured back, ligament damage, and two broken ankles. Zach Johnson (guitar) has since had 13 surgeries for a femur injury. Andrew Tkaczyk (drums) ultimately lost his leg. The band collectively came to see the ordeal as a moment to put their inspirational lyrics to the test. Songs that were once more philosophical in origin had become autobiographical.

The accident will always be a defining moment for The Ghost Inside, but never what defines them. The album tap into the raw emotional things they’ve been through, but the songs are not about reliving the worst day of their lives. “We won’t get lost in that one day. This is about our journey, our growth, and who we are.”

The Ghost Inside – Aftermath

The ultimate victory for The Ghost Inside is their triumphant new self-titled album.

About The Ghost Inside:

In 2004, The Ghost Inside formed in El Segundo, CA united by their shared passion for bands in the hardcore scene. The band has since released four studio albums; Fury and the Fallen Ones (2008), Returners (2010), Get What You Give (2012), and Dear Youth (2014).

The group stands for authenticity, dedication, perseverance and the most literal adherence to the core valyes behind their craft. Sonically, the group places equal emphasis on deeply personal vocals, urgent riffing and pile-driving breakdowns within the framework of their heavily melodic modern hardcore.

Jonathan Vigil – vocals
Chris Davis – guitar
Zach Johnson – guitar
Jim Riley – bass
Andrew Tkaczyk – drums

About The Author

Chontalle Musson
Photographer & Music Editor

there is always time for good coffee

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.